Why You Shouldn’t JFDI

A few years ago I did a couple of rounds of the Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation (hereafter called 12WBT), and lost a bunch of weight. There’s a catch cry of the 12WBT, and I can’t count the amount of times I heard it and said it and how frustrated I felt when I couldn’t JFDI. If you’re not aware, it stands for ‘just f**king doing it’, and the attitude is that you do what you need to do to lose the weight, to meet your goal, because that’s just what you’ve got to do.

But, what if JFDI isn’t the answer? What if the goal needs to be something bigger and better than a number? I propose that you should never JFDI, because maybe what you need that day isn’t what the program has placed before you, or what you feel like you should be doing. Maybe your body and mind deserve better than a cookie cutter routine that punishes you into being skinny.

After a long day of studying, a meltdown about a philosophy exam, and general feelings of blah, I rode my bike down to Timbrell Park to workout with the Bootcamps Australia Haberfield crew, and was just not feeling it. Honestly. I didn’t want to ride, or be at class, but I showed up, and I did what I needed to. I worked hard, don’t get me wrong, but I didn’t force myself to do what the guy next to me was capable of (seriously, he was impressive to watch) and when I needed to adjust, it wasn’t a shameful thing, it was just something that was needed because “just f**king do it” isn’t the answer to this problem of mine.

You, my friend, are not cookie dough, and no one has the right to use a cookie cutter on you. Some days you’ll need to rest, others you’ll need to take an hour and bring your woes to a yoga mat, still other days you’ll want to take your dog for a walk, and there will always be days when going hard feels great, but never ever feel obliged to JFDI, because your life is more than the number on the scales and if you work towards health, rather than a number, then you’ll find yourself being flexible with your routine and you’ll punish yourself less in both both and mind.

Leave a Reply

