He is Risen

Maybe redemption has stories to tell.

Maybe forgiveness is right where you fell.

Where can you run to escape from yourself?

Where you gonna go?

Where you gonna go?

Salvation is here.

Today there is a chorus of “he is risen” being spoken throughout the world, and if I was an outsider looking in I’d wonder what it is that these people are on about. Who is risen, and why are you always adding indeed to your response? What’s happening and what does it have to do with me, with who I am, with what I’ve done?

This morning I’ve been listening to Switchfoot and I can’t stop singing that bridge. I can’t stop singing it because it reminds me of the day I stopped running. You see, I was sitting on the floor of a youth group weekend away and something in me relented after two years of running. I had spent time trying to prove that God didn’t exist and when that was fruitless, I decided to prove that He couldn’t love me. That didn’t work. He kept chasing. He kept pursuing.

And I stopped running that day.

Today is the day when Christians celebrate what God has done. Today is the day when we celebrate redemption and salvation and the One who accomplished it all. We celebrate Jesus. We celebrate when His story infinitely collided with our own in a way that would change our eternities if only we would let him. We celebrate that he is risen (he is risen, indeed) because that was the day when we didn’t have to run any longer, because salvation had arrived.

This is the day when we could realise that right here, right now, is where redemption is because of Him. There’s no need to run. Salvation is here. He is risen. And I am so thankful. My weary heart and tired legs were thankful the day I stopped running and today, I remember Him and I celebrate Him and every day for eternity, His life will be what sustains my own life.

He is risen, indeed.

Leave a Reply

