Weighing On My Mind

Sitting in a quiet corner in a cafe was all I could manage for a few hours last week. The long black coffee was a small consolation and the newspaper I was reading gave me a slightly distraction from the clouds that had filled my mind.

Those moments happen, and I’ve learned to let them happen. Pushing it away and ignoring the reality of what’s happening in me doesn’t help me, or those around me, and so these precious hours of melancholy allow me to return to the company of others in a well state fairly soon, when previously I’d have been derailed for weeks.

This year I’m running City2Surf for Beyond Blue, and so the cause has been weighing heavily on my mind.

It’s been weighing on my mind because there are too many people who are forced to “toughen up” when what would be best would be some time out.

It’s been weighing on my mind because so many are trapped in shame about their mental health and cannot find a way out of the clouds because to do so would mean to admit the need for help.

It’s been weighing on my mind because this past week there wasn’t much time to run, and the effect the lack of exercise had on my wellbeing was intense.

Beyond Blue help give a voice and support to those of us who wrestle with the clouds in our minds, and give support to those who support us too.

They seek to remove the weight that has been on my mind for the last week, and that’s a cause worth running for.

I’d love your support. You can donate here.

Leave a Reply

