A Weapon for the Battle

Today, another Tamara posted about the twenty four inches to choose truth that some of us face down on our cloudy days. Yesterday, I wandered down to the doctor’s office where my prescription was renewed for another three months. For the first few months of having this prescription, I felt shame every time I skulked to the doctor. It felt weak to rely upon medication. Why should I need tablets to help me face the day? Why should it be so necessary?

Surely, I could fight on my own.IMG_2916

Over time I’ve had the chance to think more about these tablets that I take daily. I’ve reminded myself and others that God gave people brains so brilliant that these tablets were created, so that the daily battle of depression would be one in which I had tools to fight with. These tablets are a tool. They are a weapon for the fight, and I am thankful for them.

There isn’t a noble point here. There isn’t a punchline. There’s just a prescription that used to bring me shame and now reminds of God’s kindness in providing tools to battle depression with.

I suppose the point is that you know that the tools God has provided aren’t shameful. Embrace what he’s given us, when you need it. It isn’t weak.

That’s it. That’s all.

One thought on “A Weapon for the Battle

  1. Dude, I totally hear you. 100mg zoloft over here – I hate it. I feel like… so not ok that I need to take it, I at least want to cut back. But 1 thing at a time.

    Definitely a tool God provides, for me, I am way more servant hearted because of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

