Faithful.

“I have no idea what I’m doing, but I trust that God has me here for a reason, and I’m going to be faithful to Him.” she said, a smile obvious in her voice as the coffee grinder thudded in the background of our phone call.

A laugh left my lips, and I wasn’t entirely sure why at that point. The conversation kept meandering through topics, and faithfulness remained at the forefront of my mind the whole time – a word that loomed larger than any exam ever could (though, Friday’s Hebrew exam seems pretty large currently).

For only the third time, I shared a thought God planted deeply in my heart. My friend received it well, and her next words were a sharp reminder of what exactly the purpose of this all is. “God knows what he’s doing placing you at college. Your journey isn’t for no reason, and He’ll keep being faithful through it all.”

And so, my head swimming in Hebrew paradigms, vocabulary, and annotations written by dead guys, I’m forging forward, trusting the faithfulness of the One who chose to have his message written in this squiggly language, and thankful for His reminder of His purposes through a phone call with a friend who had no idea how twisted into knots I was until she called.

God is faithful.
He knows what he’s doing.
Even when we’re clueless.
It really is better that way.

Leave a Reply

