Such a Sweet…

1146439_10201330379675175_987193591_nBeside my bed sits an old green prayer book. I don’t open it as often as I should, but today as I sat in church during communion, partaking in the same words and the same experience that my brothers and sisters did, I found myself drawn to the words that are contained within that book. I found myself drawn to the simplicity of them, and the significance such a simple act holds for believers.

“This is my body, which is given for you; do this in remembrance of me.”Β 

“This is my blood of the new covenant, which is shed for you and for many for remission of sins; do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.”

I’m sure these words have been read at least a hundred times in churches I’ve attended, sometimes said with passion and others with mumbled apathy, but each time the words are not intended to be that of the speaker – they are indeed the words of the Saviour. These words which have been uttered countless times in gatherings of believers… these words still hold true. They still give our souls something to hold fast to when nothing else makes sense.

And so, this morning, as I took the bread and took the (not really) wine, I considered that in such a moment I am not merely thinking upon my unity to my Saviour. I am celebrating what he has done. I am remembering what he has done. I am echoing the actions and words of the countless saints before me. Young, old, weak, strong, all one in Christ. All one for eternity. All in Him.

Such a sweet sound these words are. Such a sweet taste the bread and (not really) wine is. Such a sweet, sensational salvation we celebrate as we come to communion together.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

