Out of my League.

The Obstacle Course Racing League launched recently, and I’m in a strange position to know some of the racers, and see their training and their racing and admire their skill and dedication. I admire their 300 burpees a day, and their ability to run far and fast. I admire their rope climbing skills. I admire the way they smash through races like they’re nothing.

But, here’s the thing, and I’m not sure I should admit it in a public space, but I’m doing it anyone. 

I don’t think I’ll ever be in the same league as them. I’m afraid that I’m just average and that’s the way my physicality is meant to be. I’m afraid the OCRL will always be out of my league. And, to be frank, I’m a bit tired of being at the back of the pack in races. 

End of rant, friends. 

3 thoughts on “Out of my League.

    1. You’re one insightful Russian, Anna!
      I don’t want to be them, but I do want that level of fitness and confidence.

      Like

  1. The Bible teaches us that the race is not to the swift are even the strongest, but to those who are willing to be patience and endure the trials and tribulation to the end. I say to you this day, stay focus and keep your eye on the prize. Sometimes in order for us to be first, we must be last. Jesus said the first will be the last and the last will be first. I know this to be true, because I used to be a cross country cyclist. I started out in last day and was always behind the pack for several years. Then one day I came in first place after many disappointments and I have never looked back in anything I attempt to do. I stayed focus and kept my eye on the prize. I held on to God’s unchanging hands. It was faith that kept me moving forward and kept me moving up through the pack when others were beginning to weaken and fall back, God was strengthen me and moving me forward. I started racing when I was 35 years old and did not win my first race until I was 44. What God did for me, He will do the same for you. So I encourage you to just hang in there, be strong, be yourself and allow God to use your physical body as you build your spiritual mind with it always stayed on the one who can do all things but fail. Be Blessed My Friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

