Five Minute Friday: Roots.

Five minutes writing, no editing. First attempt at this exercise. Eep!

I’ve always loved to find out where someone comes from. Not just their hometown, but the story about why they are the way they are; why they have the scars they do; why they dye their hair; why they speak quietly in crowded rooms. I’ve always been fascinated with these stories about beginnings and how we came to be who we are.

God wrote everything into existence at the very beginning, and there is such beauty in the way he did it. By his mere breath he spoke everything that is into being. The stars are not a cosmic accident, but the very creation of He who was before all. The biggest thing that amazes me about the roots of all creation isn’t so much the stars in their breadth, but it is us that fascinates me.

A week or so ago, a friend was talking to me and paused suddenly to inform me that my eyes are very green. They are truly, very green, with some flecks of brown in them, and in them a story is told. They get darker when my moods are dark, and brighten as I laugh. God created me that way. My eyes have their beginnings in him.

Your eyes do, too.

Your story does. My story does. And it is beautiful to me that all of our stories, as different as they are, all have the same roots. Those roots are found in him.

That is where we come from.

And to Him is where we are going.

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Roots.

  1. Oh did you love doing this? Cause I loved reading it….AND I knew we “NFs” would “get” each other! The first paragraph about wanting to KNOW people and their stories and go DEEPER….SO ME! I am so glad you joined us this week and I got to hear your lovely soul! I hope we can get to know each other even more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

