#62; the way the week begins…

Most Mondays and Tuesdays you will find me at a Bible college at the bottom of the steepest driveway I’ve ever seen, surrounded by some amazing bushland. This year, I’ve got the chance to take on some challenges unique to the Advanced Diploma course at the college – including learning Biblical Greek, and writing 4000 words on anything I want to – within reason, of course.

This week was the first week of second semester, and I fell back into the same old bad food habits at college – student eating seems to be something I cannot resist. I need to learn how. Perhaps it’s as simple as a bottle of water or a whole load of green tea. It’s the warmth that comforts me in winter. So nice. It makes the challenge of Greek feel slightly more manageable. 
The 4000 word project is probably the most exciting part of my semester, though. I’m spending time thinking through how youth leaders can best support teenagers who self harm. It’s something really personal to me, and sometimes I find myself drained because of it, but there is enough passion there to keep going because it matters. I know it matters. God’s given me a voice, a brain, and the gift of being able to string a sentence together well. I’m excited to use it.
Training is falling off my radar as life gets busier, and I can feel it. I can feel my body straining to do more. I can feel my mind needing the escape that working out is. Tomorrow, I’m going to go for a run. Thursday, I’ll cycle. Friday is a run and a swim with some friends. 
This life is a strange one sometimes, but more and more, I find that I enjoy it. I enjoy the oddity that it is.

My question:
How do you avoid the trappings of eating junk food when you’re studying?

4 thoughts on “#62; the way the week begins…

  1. The best way I have found to avoid junk food is actually a pretty simple concept…. don't have it available to you at all! Don't keep it where you are living and don't just happen to end up at a vending machine or in the candy aisle somewhere. For me- if I see it, I'll eat it! So I just don't give myself the chance to see it!

    Check me out at http://www.engagedandrunning.com

    Like

  2. College supply food while I'm there – it's two days a week where I don't supply my own food. At home I don't have junk.
    College, I'm not in control of what's in front of me. Just what I put in my mouth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

