Home.

Home is secure. Home is safe. Home is steady. Home is… home is… home. It is a place that allows me to breathe a sigh of relief because I know that within this small space, I am okay. Within this one property, I cannot be hurt, and each time I approach home, I anticipate the safety of within. Each time, I get ready to let go of the stress of the day and relax.

Sometime last night, my car was stolen from right outside my house. Someone took it about 20 minutes from my home and burnt it out, then left it on the side of the road. I found this out for sure this afternoon, but I discovered the car was missing at nine this morning. The certainty didn’t hit until the police told me exactly where it had been found.

And suddenly, home doesn’t feel so secure, safe or steady. Suddenly, home feels like it could shatter at any moment and that’s a feeling that shakes me to my core. It’s brought me to tears over and over. It’s left my hands shaking and my nerves raw. In the midst of all this, there is some comfort, though.

Comfort that isn’t found in insurance (because I had none), nor is it found in the friends who have rallied to strongly around me to make sure that I’m okay. It’s found in something rock solid, and yet something that seems to far away tonight. I needed a reminder. I figured you might too.

Jesus said, “My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. ”

God keeps his promises. Jesus is preparing a place for me – a place that is my true home. A place where there will be no more tears, no more theft, no more insecurity, because we will be where He is. We will be eternally secure, eternally safe, eternally His. The stumbling and mumbling, cussing and chaos of days like today are temporary.

I’m longing for something eternal, not temporal. I’m longing for His presence, not the absence of safety. And tonight, I am comforted by the knowledge that He is preparing such a place… and that even in this insecurity, He is with me and He is working in this.

But how I long to be secure. How I long to be Home.

 

Leave a Reply

