Doors.

There are some doors that I would rather stay away from. Mostly it’s a comfort thing, if I’m honest with you. It seems that God doesn’t enjoy my comfort quite as much as I do. John Piper’s voice echos in my mind, reminding me that life isn’t about my comfort but instead about God’s glory. It’s a helpful echo to have.  See, these places I never want to go near – the dark doors that I never want to enter – are the places where God shows me more of Himself. He shows me that His strength is shown in my weakness, that His words are spoken so much clearer when all the arrogance, ego and pretense of my “purposeful” prose falls away.

And he is glorified.

And I am satisfied in Him in those moments.

There are doors I’d rather stay away from. But I hope God keeps pushing me through them.

Leave a Reply

