We say…

I’m convinced that God has a wicked sense of humour. There are a few things that make me think this – and one of them has to do with the three cute looking puppets that currently reside on my desk, right near George – my first and favourite puppet.

A few years ago I helped with a kid’s holiday club at the church I was part of. At the same time, I was reading through 1 Samuel and God smacked me over the head with the word ‘undignified’ and the scene of David dancing as the Ark of the Covenant was brought back.

I wrote about this (and it’s somewhere on this blog) and that ended up on the back of the church bulletin. The problem with this was that now people knew that I leaned towards being too proud to interact with kids in a good way, and that I knew I needed to get over myself.

God got me to lay down my pride and dance like an idiot for a few days that week. Something I had sworn I’d never do, God had me do. And you know, it was actually fun.

In year 3 I stopped doing scripture. I didn’t believe it, I thought it was boring and so off I went to non-scripture where I read books about other worlds that were so much more interesting than the one with the old lady and the colouring in sheets.

These days? Half my work hours are spent preparing scripture, most often with the consideration of using a puppet because the thing that seemed goofy and stupid to me a few years ago is so much fun now – and scripture is honestly one of the best parts of my week.

God’s got a sense of humour. When we say “never”, God says “wait and see…”

And now, there are puppets on my desk.

Oh man.

Leave a Reply

