Words, Guitars & my poor neighbors.

I feel sorry for my next door neighbors sometimes. There are days when I don’t know how to talk to God or what to say to him, and at the risk of sounding like my life is a musical, I end up grabbing my guitar and playing some songs with my below par guitar skills and singing with more passion than skill because honestly, it’s easier to communicate with God sometimes when my voice is alongside the messy chords of my cheap guitar. It isn’t that I’m hiding behind them, it’s that there is a raw honesty in music that is hard to express with just words.

And if you know me, you know that words are normally something I find manageable.

Today I was playing a few songs and spilling my guts to God through words that someone else wrote, and it made me wonder if this is one of the ways the Spirit moves in us. Romans tells us that the Spirit intercedes for us in groans that words cannot express (or something like that…) and I’m beginning to think that one of God’s best gifts to us is that of music and the way he works in us as we sing to him.

This isn’t a profound thought. But here’s the thing – so often it feels like music is routine and just something we do because we have to in church. Recently, though, God has shown me that there is so much more to it. That we can really connect with him through it. We can cry out in pain or praise and we can know that God hears us. He hears us all the time when we pray, but I love the unity of music – whether its one guitar and one voice or one guitar and a million voices. There’s something special in it.

Maybe that’s why the Psalmists are so fascinated by music, huh?

Leave a Reply

