Alone

In the dark of the night, when storm clouds are rushing in, it is hard to see any sort of picture – let alone the big picture of hope, grace and redemption. It is much easier to believe that you are alone because that is how you feel and all evidence in that moment would suggest that you are indeed alone. At least, all the evidence that you will deem as truthful in that moment. And so, with Bono, we cry out the lyrics of ‘Wake Up Dead Man’…

“Jesus, Jesus help me
I’m alone in this world
And a f**ked up world it is too
Tell me, tell me the story
The one about eternity
And the way it’s all gonna be,”

In the dark of the night, we plead with God to tell us the story about tears being wiped away for eternity, about living in His presence without any brokenness, about all things tangibly being reconciled to Him… And when the evidence will not suggest that you are alone. The plea for a story that is not the one you feel so trapped in will no longer exist but instead a chorus of all living things finally united as they praise the One who is worthy of all the glory.

But for now, just know that the evidence that you see before you is a blurred picture of reality. It is distorted by demons to further box you into the darkness. But you? You are not alone. I assure you, you are not alone.

You are loved.

You are not an orphan. God is with you. Not in some lofty, idealistic way but so close that even though you cannot find the words to pray, the Spirit of God prays for you with groans that words cannot express. God is close. He can understand even that which you cannot find the words to articulate.

You are not alone.

And there is another story being told, even through your tears – it is one of redemption.

2 thoughts on “Alone

  1. I just came across your blog after Rick Warren tweeted @ you.

    This post is beautiful. I cried as I read it.

    Thank you.

    I am currently at work but hope to read more from you when I get home tonight!

    Is there a way to subscribe to your blog for updates via email?

    I’m 26 and I have a blog too: HeyItsAmy.com. My husband’s blog can be found at GodandStuff.com.

    I hope to keep in touch with you.

    Hugs,
    Amy

    Like

Leave a Reply

