Demi Lovato

“It was a way of expressing my own shame, of myself, on my own body. I was matching the inside to the outside. And there were some times where my emotions were just so built up, I didn’t know what to do. The only way that I could get instant gratification was through an immediate release on myself.”

Demi Lovato

As I write this, Camp Rock 2 is on in the background. Demi Lovato stars in it and when it was filmed, she was in the midst of battling addiction to cutting. I’m perplexed at how she managed to sing and dance while her body had self inflicted wounds on it. If you don’t know what happened with Demi Lovato, I’ll fill you in…

In the middle of a tour, she quit and went into a treatment centre for women with addictions without telling anyone why. There was a lot of media speculation about it. There had been claims that she’d self harmed in the past – photos that had faded scars on them, but no one from her close circle would say anything. It’s a few months later now and Demi is speaking up.

A Disney golden girl is speaking up about self harm and bulimia. She hasn’t gone off the rails and taken to drug abuse, but instead she’s being honest about what she’s been through and what she is going through and it makes me wonder how many girls have been brave enough to speak up because of her.

We hold celebrities up as these models of perfection and yet Demi got caught with cuts on her wrist and instead of continuing to hide she stepped into the light and spoke up about something so many are afraid to.

Makes me wonder – what would we speak up about if we didn’t feel like we had to seem like we have everything together all the time?

Leave a Reply

