Crosspoint & the universal church. EPIC.

Crosspoint church had their first internet service today. The time difference between the US and Australia means that while they’re still in Sunday evening, I’m chilling out at the beginning of Monday. The internet has provided a lot of negative things in today’s society, but today as I chatted to a bunch of people during the service, it occurred to me that what we’re seeing – what we’re experiencing – in those moments isn’t just something being broadcast to us, but a practical, real example of the universal church coming together.

I don’t mean that the message Pete Wilson preached brought us together – though, it was an awesome message from God. I’m talking about the fact that community comes from these things, that we come together, gather under God’s word, with a united purpose to glorify and praise Him! And all this happens, from different locations, different time zones… And it’s amazing.

There are a lot of theological ideas that I don’t have a great comprehension of because for me, experience is something that helps me understand things. For me to understand something well, I need to have a tangible experience of it. That isn’t a sinful thing, I don’t think. It’s a product of the generation I’m a part of, and it causes me to seek out the real life examples of theological ideas that seem lofty and unattainable.

Today I saw the universal church, or rather, a tiny glimpse of it, because God gave me the chance to gather with other Christians from other places with unique experiences and lives… and now I get it a little more. I get it. We are all connected, whether we know it or not, whether we know each other or not.

Praise God.

2 thoughts on “Crosspoint & the universal church. EPIC.

  1. It was so great to chat with you during the service. I’m so glad that you joined us and praying that we can create a place of real community. Thank you for being willing to be a part of that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

