Is Grace Really Enough?

Father and Son
Image via Wikipedia

I’ve got a confession to make. There are times when I don’t want to accept grace. I don’t want to come to God knowing that I am a sinner and need his forgiveness. I want to come to God knowing that I, in all my strength, have overcome sin. You would know, and I know too, how futile that effort is. I want to be a leader who has many stories of overcoming sin, not one who struggles with sin!

Have you ever caught yourself in that moment? The moment where you know that you are not enough. That all your scrambling and fighting to be good enough has just left you sitting in a pile of your own mess, further away from perfection than you were before you tried to reach a state of sinlessness. And even in those moments, sometimes I don’t get the point. I keep on scrambling. I make excuses. I convince myself once more that grace isn’t what I need. What I need is definitely self discipline.

Did you know that by the Spirit we can cry ‘Abba, Father!’? We can cry out to God and ask for help. The image I have of this is a little like the story of the prodigal son, but a pint sized version. I imagine a small child being told by their father that perhaps, eating sand isn’t a good idea. The child thinks they know best and so off they go, eating that delicious sand pie. Then on their lips they feel something moving and they scream. It’s a tiny spider. They brush it off in a panic and run inside, crawling onto their father’s lap for protection, for grace. They know they were wrong, but it isn’t condemnation they seek. It’s comfort. It’s their Father’s loving arms.

And there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, for those who can cry ‘abba, Father!’ in their brokenness.

It takes courage, though… It takes courage to admit that we are like children that constantly go astray… But we are.

Grace is enough.

Grace IS enough.

One thought on “Is Grace Really Enough?

Leave a Reply

