Falling Off The Horse…

There are cliches that you hear over and over and become desensitised to. They really don’t mean anything anymore, and the person who uses them is just grasping for literary straws or some way to comfort or cheer someone… But, there is of course, exceptions to this rule. And yesterday I discovered one. The exception is this – when the cliche is not meant as a metaphor, but is literal. Then it takes on a whole new meaning for the people who saw the event, and especially for the one it happened to.

Well, I fell off a horse. His name is Wilson and he’s notoriously grumpy. He doesn’t like anyone, and no one likes him. I can see why. You see, Wilson saw a couple of his horse friends heading back to the stables and wanted to go as well. He turned, I tried to make him turn back, he didn’t pay any attention. I tried again. He sped up. I panicked, and inevitably fell off of this big horse and landed on the ground. I can now confidently tell you that falling off a horse hurts. My entire left side hurts and there’s this annoying rope burn I’ve got from trying to hold on. Yes, I’m adding that to the list in injuries acquired.

I rolled away from Wilson and got to my knees and sat like that trying to catch my breath for a while. Horse calm again, I walked slowly towards him and dragged myself back on.

You see? A fulfilment of the cliche that formerly meant nothing at all to me. I got back on the horse. I didn’t trust the horse anymore, and while the experience was fun, I really don’t like Wilson. In the fulfilment of this cliche, I learnt something about what it means.

When you fall off your metaphorical horse, don’t expect to get back on and ride like Robin Hood – unless you are Robin Hood, which you’re not.

When you fall off your metaphorical horse, be cautious as you ride again and build up the confidence.

When you fall off your metaphorical horse, get back on it… because if you don’t, you’ll be full of regret.

One thought on “Falling Off The Horse…

Leave a Reply

