Truth.

There’s one quote that has stayed with me since I first read it. I’ve written about it before. It’s from Dietrich Bonhoeffer, in his book Life Together. He wrote that “God is not a god of emotions, but a God of truth.” I remember it because my initial reaction was a negative one, and the more I thought about it, the more Dietrich was making sense. Thus, it stuck. If you look at Myers Briggs types, then you’ll understand why I reacted so badly to this. I’m an INFP. Emotions tend to rule what I say and do. Emotional connection means a lot to me. Here’s the thing, though, when it comes to God, if I let my emotions rule all the time, there would be big problems. My perception of God cannot be based on my emotions.

If something bad happens, God MUST be ignoring me. Right?

No.

God is soveriegn. God is in control. He has a purpose even if I can’t see it.

The emotional response isn’t always the truth. The emotional response requires a nudge – sometimes subtle, sometimes violent – to be brought back to the truth of who God is. Think about the Psalms. Think about how the psalmists would be asking where God is and in the end be recounting his deeds from history. I never want to stay stuck in the first part of the Psalm. That’s not a good place to be. God is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. There isn’t much constant in life, but that is one thing.

God is a god of truth.

The only truth you can count on.

2 thoughts on “Truth.

  1. Helpful stuff. Could we maybe say though that God is a God of emotion arising from truth. Then we get to hold on to the good stuff you said, and dont need to find a new god to be the god of emotions. Jesus seems to demonstrate stong emotion but always based on unflinching truth as you and DB contend. Also did you know that we are exact Myers Briggs opposites: ESTJ

    Like

    1. We could say that, it’s just much less pithy. You’re right though. He is emotional, but he is constant in character in spite of our emotional messes.

      I did know that we’re Myers Briggs opposites. Weird, huh?

      Like

Leave a Reply

