Sick?

Winter in Australia is nothing compared to Winter in most places. But for me, winter is painful. Mostly, the sicknesses that come with winter are what make it painful. Normally I get one cold and then am fine but this year I’m up to three colds so far and it’s only been a month or so. They’re never bad enough to stay in bed, but always bad enough to make me sore, frustrated and groggy. I hate being sick. Secretly, I’d like to believe that in spite of past wounds that I’m invincible. That isn’t the case, and getting sick makes me realise that – not only are there physical symptoms, but as I force myself to rest to recover, there’s too much time to think and I rehash the past.

But didn’t Jesus come for the sick? I’m not invincible… Even though I want to be. Actually, I want to be like Batman who isn’t invincible but is super-awesome… but that’s a post for another day. When Jesus called Levi to follow him, Levi held a banquet and invited all his friends who just happened to be tax collectors and the Pharisees freaked out about it. Jesus’ response was in the form of a metaphor, as he often chose to do. He asked them “”Those who are healthy have no need for a physician, but those who are sick do. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.”

Levi was one of the Twelve. And yet, not only am I annoyed at sickness because of it’s inconvenience, but hate that it reminds me of my weakness… But Jesus came for the sick…

So… why not be sick and saved?

Leave a Reply

