Knowledge

There’s an old Op Ivy song called Knowledge, and the weeks of exams I always have it stuck in my head. The hook is pretty simple… “All I know is that I don’t know, all I know is that I don’t know nothin’…” It’s accurate, too. This week I feel like no matter how much I study I’m still going to walk into that exam with massive amounts of anxiety and wondering if I can pull off a pass in this subject.

All I know is that I don’t know nothin’, right?

I want to propose a theory, though…

If I walked into anything – exams, scripture, talks, writing studies – assuming that I knew exactly what I was doing then I would be in more trouble, not just because of the percieved arrogance in doing that, but because as soon as you think you’ve made it, there’s always something to remind you that you in fact know nothing. Or at least nothing when it’s compared to what there is to actually know. Maybe this fear is healthy as long as it isn’t paralyzing. Maybe I’ll pass this exam?

Anyway, I’ve got an exam tomorrow and another next week so I’m horrible at posting when I’m attempting to cram a semesters worth of information into my brain in the space of a week.

Expect regular posting to resume in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

