Guilty Pleasures

My iPod is shameful. It contains Simple Plan, Ashlee Simpson, Glee soundtrack, Backstreet Boys and a lot of other stuff. Those are just some of the embarassing ones. Cut me some slack and keep hold of those stones you’re about to throw at me because you’ve got guilty pleasures too, right? Some of you like Justin Beiber and wont admit it. Some of you secretly blast the Wicked soundtrack when no one else is around. He who is without musical shame can throw the first stone. No one? Good. Let’s move on.

When no one else is home, I sing loudly and there might be a bit of dancing going on. Not the smooth sort of dancing, but dancing on the wooden floor and slipping all over the place because socks and floors like that don’t really have heaps of traction. It’s goofy and I’ve gotten bruises from falling over one too many times. I would also use a hair brush as a microphone for the epic ballads, except I can never find it when I need it.

I read vampire books. Twilight, Vampire Diaries, Vampire Academy… They’re fun. They’re a good escape from the craziness of life. I think Bella’s frustrating, though. And I’d pick Jacob over Edward anyday. Edward, as those who have talked to me enough would know, is an old, creepy man in a teenagers body who watches a girl sleep without her permission. Creepy, huh? Jacob is at least the age he says he is. The whole werewolf thing is nuts, though.

Enough confessions of a 20 year old. There are many more things I could tell you about myself but I wont because then you’d see me and chuckle every time. We’ve all got things that we do that are goofy or strange or seemingly out of character (my old bedroom was bright pink, for example). You know some of mine now, but well… I could tie this back to God and you know that it does all tie back into God. Maybe in Samuel where David says he will be undignified, but that’s a theological stretch, right? Maybe this is part of community… being open, right? I don’t know. I think it is. Maybe you disagree.

I’m not cool. Never have been, never will be. I’m just me. Goofy sometimes, super serious at others, and I’m currently listening to the Glee soundtrack.

But hey, if we can’t laugh together, we’re all in trouble aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

