Like a Lion

Let love explode and bring the dead to life
A love so bold
To see a revolution somehow

Now I’m lost in Your freedom
This world I’ll overcome

My God’s not dead
He’s surely alive
He’s living on the inside
Roaring like a lion

Let hope arise and make the darkness hide
My faith is dead
I need a resurrection somehow
Let hope arise and make the darkness hide

Let heaven roar and fire fall
Come shake the ground
With the sounds of revival

Like a Lion – David Crowder Band (written by Daniel Bashta)

My God’s not dead. He’s surely alive.

I don’t know about you, but there are days when I walk away from ministry wondering what the point is. Nothing was said that mattered, nothing was done that will change anything tomorrow, and God wasn’t glorified because I spent all my time grumbling about how he wasn’t doing anything that day. There are those days.

Then there are days, like today, that remind you of why you would consider doing this as a job instead of getting a degree in journalism and travelling the world interviewing bands. I’ve been listening to Like a Lion by David Crowder Band a lot lately and it was stuck in my head today as I taught scripture and got the opportunity to explain why the cross is so glorious to a bunch of teenagers who thought being good could get you to heaven. God gave me the words. God made them realise that scripture isn’t just a reprieve from class, but that it might just matter after all.

This afternoon I was thinking of how hopeless tonight would be. We were talking about homelessness and what would I know about that? Nothing, I thought. Nothing at all. Well, actually, a lesson I got from tonight was that by definition, I was homeless for a while last year. And now, as we talked about it, there’s a chance of a movement within a small group of people who have just heard about heartbreak and a world without Facebook or showers.

All the while, the line ‘My God’s not dead. He’s surely alive’ is running through my head and you know what…?

Our God’s not dead.

He’s surely alive.


Leave a Reply

