What Would Your Card Say?

If you had a business card, what would be written on it? It could say something like ‘builder’ or ‘doctor’. Like my business card, it might not even exist. I’ve got a theory, though. I think I know what should be written on my business card, and yours, and it’s definitely on God’s business card.
Life changer.
Wednesday, Thursday and Friday of last week and this week I’ve been blessed with the chance to spend time with some kids who you don’t often see around the church. Holiday clubs bring a whole lot of families that aren’t regulars, and in those three days, it’s our job to show them who God is and what it’s like to be a part of His family. It’s an awesome responsibility, and I mean ‘awesome’ in the way that it was originally meant… How can it not inspire awe to have a chance to bring hope into the lives of these kids who think that they’re not good enough, or that they’re just another average kid? More importantly, to open up their eyes to who God is and what he’s done. It’s awesome.

It’s just three days! It feels like nothing. It feels like one little blip on the radar of their lives. Consider this, though, with God is anything small and insignificant? It’s three days. It isn’t just three days. ‘Just’ shouldn’t be a word we use unless we’re talking about justice, but that’s another ramble altogether.

There’s one kid who I spent a lot of today trying to get involved. He stands back from things a lot, and I think it has something to do with the fact that he’s a bit younger than the others, but he seems sad sometimes if you ask me. I sat and did craft with him, and high fived him after he got a question right during the talk and once we both got out in a game he offered me the chair he’d been sitting on. It’s crazy how giving someone a bit of your time can brighten their day. It’s crazy that showing a little bit of care, that takes almost no effort from you, can mean so much to someone else. This kid is a regular at the kid’s club, but there are others that stick in my mind.
Last school holiday’s a group of us from Dapto went to St. Clair to run a holiday club. Apart from remembering the trip up there every day and how much fun it was doing crazy actions with Jean-Anne, and how Michelle’s dog is crazy, I remember seeing Amanda get to know one of the year four girls. She sat with her and listened to her stories. She stood next to her during songs to get her involved. The girl felt special, and you could see it. Amanda wasn’t doing that because she wanted to be looked up to… she was doing that to show that girl a little bit of God. I’m willing to say that the girl from St. Clair will look back at those few days and remember pretty clearly that Amanda cared about her, and that God cares, too.

There are so many stories that I could tell, and the only common thread through them all is God and His power to work through us messy people in ‘just three days.’ And today as I thought about how three days can change a child’s everything, I thought about the bigger picture. Ministry programs are one thing, but I think the same thing applies to the rest of life… that something we think is insignificant could be the thing that opens someone’s eyes to God, or is a step towards that. Looking back over my own life, I can see that there’s small moments that meant the world to me that felt like no big deal to the person who was a part of that moment (I almost said ‘created that moment’ but then I remembered that God created it).

A memory I tend to revisit once a week or so is the day I became a Christian. I sat on the lounge room floor of Youthworks College (where I now study, but I was there for a youth group weekend away at that point), crying for no reason that I could explain. My small group leader was praying with a couple of my friends and I simply… sat there crying and shaking. Someone sat beside me. It was someone who I wasn’t close to, and didn’t have a history with, but she just sat down and said, “You don’t have to talk to me if you don’t want. You just look like you could use some company.” And she put her hand on my shoulder and sat there silently.

One moment. It means more to me than she knows. She played a pretty big part in that day, because I know that her sitting next to someone who had never really been kind to her before wouldn’t have been a natural instinct but she chose to be God’s hands and feet in that moment.

Enough with my stories. You probably don’t even want to read them, and I’m impressed if you got this far, but here’s the point of this thought that’s taking forever to explain…

I am not just helping out at a holiday club.
You are not just a uni student or a high school student.
You are not just a mother.
You are not just… anything.
You’re in the business of changing lives, because when we’re a part of God’s family it’s the family trade. We have the opportunity to be God’s people, and to share that same chance with other people… it isn’t some business proposition or a simple belief that you cling to when life is hard. It’s life changing.
If you had a business card, what would be written on it? It could say something like ‘builder’ or ‘doctor’. Like my business card, it might not even exist. I’ve got a theory, though. I think I know what should be written on my business card, and yours, and it’s definitely on God’s business card.
Life changer.

Leave a Reply

